Another stanza note

On another stanza note, I got an advance copy of Interpreting News, by my colleague Graham Meikle and after giving him some grief, persuaded some electronic files off him. (That way I’ll read it, I said). Anyhow, I mucked around in bbedit inserting chapter breaks etc and ‘shared’ it to stanza on my iphone. Fiddling with the settings, I noticed there was an option to get the cover artwork from the web. So I tried. Lo and behold, down it came, looking just like the cover of the physical object I had in my hands. From amazon no doubt. More impressive given that it doesn’t ship from there for another few days 🙂

5 comments so far

  1. Graham Meikle on

    Or in other words you’ve managed to use a thousand-dollar phone to replicate a forty-dollar paperback;-) Result.

  2. shermanfyoung on

    Hey, you just want one too 🙂

  3. Neelan Choksi on

    Wow, you are a brave person. I’m impressed.

    For the Random House free titles, I converted the non-ePub backlist books (.LIT interestingly enough) they sent us using Calibre (to try it out – I of course could have used Stanza Desktop) and then manually edited in the excerpts which were sent in PDF using Adobe’s PDFXML tool. I definitely know more about ePub than I ever wanted to (I’m on the business side of Lexcycle but our technical team was overbooked so sometimes you just have to roll up your sleeves).

  4. shermanfyoung on

    Hi Neelan

    Thanks for dropping by. It wasn’t actually particularly hard. I ended up doing the same for my book. No idea what to do with tables though 🙂

    Cheers

    Sherman

  5. Mike Cane on

    See? I usually don’t have to ask questions. People think I’ll never find out. FAIL! I Am Everywhere.

    Hello, Neelan.


Leave a Reply

